top of page


SHIN SOMATICS® IDENTIFIES EASTWEST SOMATICS PROCESSES. These process educate the neuromuscular system toward greater health and well-being. Somatic therapists use hands-on movement techniques for this purpose and also teach simple movement sequences that can be practiced at home or in groups. Through somatic movement education people learn relaxing motions, and postural awareness to:


  • Manage Stress

  • Relieve Back Pain

  • Breathe More Freely

  • Soften Stiff Neck and Shoulders

  • Reduce Joint and TMJ Discomfort

  • Improve Flexibility and Coordination

  • Perform Favorite Activities with Greater Ease

  • Heal from Trauma to the Neuromuscular System

  • Speed Recuperation after Illness or Surgery


Some somatic therapists will also include practical meditation techniques and visualizations to access the wisdom of the bodymind to face stress, pain, and illness, and to enhance the functioning of the body's immune system.


Some well-known somatic therapeutic re-education techniques are: Feldenkrais® Method, Alexander Technique, Body-Mind Centering, Aston Movement Patterning, Rosen Breathwork, and Eastwest Shin Somatics®. All of these have programs leading to certification. Somatic therapy training programs typically involve from 500 to 1000 hours of study for certification. Adjunct healing techniques often studied by somatic probationers are CranioSacral Therapy and Myofascial Release. 


Modalities from Dance Movement Therapy, such as Authentic Movement (a psychosomatic process evolved by dance therapist Mary Whitehouse), may also be utilized by practitioners with a dance background. Of the programs mentioned above, Eastwest Somatics, featuring Shin Somatics® Certification, is on of the few program that includes dance as a major component of study.

Shin Somatics® is a unique somatic practice influenced by Feldenkrais®, Yoga, Japanese Butoh, Dance Movement Therapy, Movement Imagery, and Effective Communication. Eastwest Shin Somatics® Certification is a 720 hour program including credit given for home study and background studies.  See the Certification link for specific information on program structure and outline of seven levels.

bottom of page